Linton Triumph in East Anglia Championships

The Linton chess club and players have achieved a clean sweep in the East Anglian Championships (covering Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire, Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire) by winning all three main events.  I’m sure this has not been achieved by any club before.

Over the weekend of 7/8 March Chris Davison won the individual title and Aarnavh Trivedi won the junior championship.  And on 15 March the Linton Tigers team of Ashley Stewart, Chris Davison, Kevin Clark and Paul Kemp convincingly won the team championship.

We also had success in the supporting events.  Yoav Pilowsky-Bankirer won the other junior award on 7/8 March, the prize for the best junior graded under 170.  And at the team championships the Linton Bears and the Linton Wolves both shared first place in their respective grade-limited events.

Paul Kemp

Winners of the Bob Jones Trophy

Sarah Weersing and Gavith Dharmasena are presented with the Bob Jones trophy which they won at the 2019 Bury St Edmunds Congress. They both scored 3.5/5 in the Major Tournament and were the highest-placed juniors from the Bury and Suffolk Leagues to score more than 50%. Making the presentation is Congress Secretary Steve Lovell (left) and Bob Jones, who was the Congress Director for 16 years.

Linton Success at Cambridgeshire Rapidplay

Fourteen Linton players competed in the Cambridgeshire Rapidplay at Whittlesford on 29 September, of whom seven were prizewinners.

In a strong Open Tournament two juniors, Giulio Sahinoz and Aarnavh Trivedi, shared both the junior prize and the grading prize, scoring 3/5.  This was remarkable in that in a field of 21 players everyone else was graded at least 15 points higher than them.

In the Major Tournament Mark Lim shared third place.  In the Challengers Tournament Patrick Ribbands shared third place, whilst Michael Osborn and Vikram Banerjee shared the grading prize. 

In the Minor Tournament Rob Davies shared second place.  Also competing creditably in the Minor were five Linton juniors, with newcomers Annchen and Cailynn Jones narrowly missing out on the prizes.

Paul Kemp

Double jamboree success for Linton

With the season having only just started Linton have already won two trophies.

On 5 September three Linton teams played in the Bury League Jamboree, a teams-of-four rapidplay competition. Linton Tigers (Chris Davison, Paul McMahon, Gavith & Kian Dharmasena) scored a magnificent 11.5/12.

In joint second place with Bury A and Cambridge were Linton Crocodiles (Paul Kemp, Oded & Yoav Pilowsky-Bankirer, Benjamin Varea) with 8.5/12. Linton Lions were next with 6.5/12 (Kevin Clark, Alan Richardson, Laurie Mercer, Patrick Ribbands). Thanks to all who played and particular congratulations to those who won all three of their games: Chris Davison, Gavith Dharmasena, Kian Dharmasena, Oded Pilowsky-Bankirer and Patrick Ribbands.

This success came just a week after Linton tied with Royston in the Cambridgeshire Jamboree, a similar event amongst all the Cambridgeshire clubs. The same Tigers team (as above) scored 10.5/12. Interestingly the Royston team (Kevin Clark, Paul Kemp, Simon Jackson and Patrick Ribbands) also consisted of Linton members who have dual club membership.

Paul Kemp

6 Sept 2019

Linton Llamas win division 2 of Bury League

In a nail-biting final round of fixtures the Linton juniors stormed to a 5-0 victory to overtake long-term leaders Linton Loris and earn promotion to the first division.  This was the Llamas second successive promotion, having won division 3 the previous season.  The team is pictured alongside captain Nate Weersing: from left to right it is Abbey, Aarnavh, Gavith and Kian, together with Sarah (not pictured).

Linton also finished second in division 1 and division 2 and third in division 3.  The Lapwings team won the Roger Goldsmith competition’s second division.  All-in-all another successful season!